Need a Lyft? Florida Ridesharing Liability Coverage

Need a Lyft? Florida Ridesharing Liability Coverage

Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft began operating in Florida in 2014. Now, Florida is one of the largest rideshare markets in the country. While ridesharing is a convenient way to travel, there are liability concerns that arise after an accident. Both rideshare drivers and passengers alike should be aware of how insurance coverage works in the event of an Uber or Lyft accident.

Major rideshare companies like Uber or Lyft have large insurance policies to cover accidents. Rideshare drivers must have at least $1 million in liability coverage for property damage, physical injury, and death. Additionally, they must also carry the personal injury protection (PIP) insurance minimums that apply to all drivers. Even where rideshare drivers are not actively driving passengers, they must still carry $50,000 in physical injury or death liability coverage.

Rideshare companies like Uber provide generous insurance policies for their drivers. Uber, for instance, provides insurance for drivers not only in compliance with Florida law, but also provides a $1 million policy for any third-party liability as well as insurance covering accidents involving uninsured drivers. The $1 million policy applies when an Uber driver has a passenger or while in route to pick up a passenger. Lower insurance maximums apply when an Uber driver is looking for a passenger.

Florida accident laws still operate to determine how losses are covered in the event of a rideshare accident. If the Uber driver is at fault and an individual suffers only minor injuries, a driver covers their own personal injury losses. If an accident results in serious bodily injury, those individuals can go outside the Florida no-fault system and bring a claim. At-fault drivers cover the property damages for the other drivers and passengers. In many situations, optional collision coverage compensates individuals for property damage if they cause the accident. Rideshare drivers should be knowledgeable about their coverage. Drivers of rideshare vehicles should carefully review both their personal and rideshare company’s insurance policies to make sure that they carry the proper coverage.

Rideshare passengers should also be savvy about their coverage in the event of an accident. Passengers injured because of a rideshare accident can first look to the rideshare insurance policies for compensation. If a passenger suffers catastrophic injuries, the at-fault driver is the one responsible for any losses. If the at-fault driver is the Uber or Lyft driver, injured passengers should look directly to the driver’s policy. Where another driver is at fault, and that driver doesn’t have enough coverage to cover losses, the Uber or Lyft policy will kick in and cover the remainder. Finally, make certain you obtain uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage which will pay you or family members in the event the driver or owner of the at fault vehicle does not carry sufficient liability coverage to pay for all your damages.  

Wittmer|Linehan understands how frustrating and confusing it can be to recover your losses and damages after any accident. An accident with an Uber or Lyft can be even more confusing, and you may not know what to do to get full and fair compensation. Let our experience help you get the compensation you deserve.

2018-11-05T16:33:40+00:00