Rideshare passengers should understand their rights and the liability in Florida in an Uber or Lyft accident. Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft allow passengers to easily hire private drivers directly from their smartphone to pick them up and drive them to their destinations. However, passengers of ridesharing services should be aware of the special considerations that exist concerning liability in Florida in an Uber or Lyft accident. Depending on the situation, passengers may require the assistance of an experienced car accident attorney to help them better understand the liability issues that exist in their case.

Passengers involved in an Uber or Lyft accident can look directly to the rideshare insurance policy to receive compensation for any injuries. In the event of a catastrophic injury, the at-fault driver is the party responsible for covering any losses. In the event that the at-fault driver is the Uber or Lyft driver, passengers should look directly to the rideshare company’s insurance policy. Uber or Lyft insurance policies should also cover situations where another driver is at fault but does not have adequate coverage to compensate for losses. In most situations, Uber and Lyft passengers can rely on the $1 million policy required of all major rideshare drivers to cover losses in the event of an accident. 

Florida law requires that rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft carefully vet their drivers by conducting background checks on all new applicants. In the event that a rideshare company does not follow safeguards, passengers may have an additional claim against the rideshare company for their failure to take the necessary steps to ensure the safety of their drivers. Passengers who believe that a rideshare driver was not properly vetted should consult with an experienced car accident attorney to investigate what liability may exist in their case.

Rideshare companies will not employ drivers who have a drunk driving conviction in the five years before their application. Additionally, rideshare companies do not work with drivers with any conviction for reckless driving, a hit-and-run accident or any other disqualifying traffic offense within the last five years before their application. Sex offenders are likewise not allowed to drive for rideshare companies. Moreover, all rideshare drivers are required to have a valid driver’s license. Where a working driver is suspected of a disqualifying traffic offense, they are suspended from their ridesharing driving privileges until the allegations are resolved. This is true even if the allegations arose from an incident unrelated to their driving for the rideshare company. 

At Wittmer|Linehan, we understand that any accident, including accidents involving ridesharing companies like Uber and Lyft, can be frustrating. We have seen first hand the devastation that car accidents can cause to victims and their families. Our experienced attorneys can help you get the compensation you deserve and better understand liability in Florida after an Uber or Lyft accident. Our attorneys have over 50 years of combined experience dealing with Sarasota car accidents. If you have been in an accident involving an Uber or Lyft, call us at (941) 365-2296 to schedule your free case evaluation. We know that results matter and we are here to get those results for you.